jump to navigation

Long story short… August 30, 2006

Posted by dstalor in Daily Life.
trackback

I have had a nasty day today.

After what happened this morning, I came home and started looking for an ulpan (Hebrew learning course). I have 8 weeks left before I actually do anything in the IDF, and I need to bring my Hebrew level up, lest I not be able to join.

So I begin looking. Everywhere that has a website says “5 month program” or something of that nature. So we start making phone calls. People left and right are telling me “an 8-week program doesn’t exist”. I tell them “there are a gazillion different ulpanim (plural of ulpan) in this country, and not a SINGLE ONE has a program that I can do?!” Pretty soon, people are calling back to the house and telling my grandparents (who, thank god at least tried to find something for me) that we’re looking for something that doesn’t exist.

Eventually my grandparents cave, and tell me that it’s not gonna work, that such a thing doesn’t exist, that I need to give up on the November enlistment and go with a 3-year Army service. “So what if you have to wait until you’re 21 to start college?” they tell me.

But I refuse to give up… I’m calling people like crazy. I even was venting on my best friend (thanks, Becki!) who didn’t really deserve being smacked upside her head with my frustrations and near-collapse into emo-dom.

Why must everyone insist that it can’t be done? My mom is a professional speaker, and one of her inspirational speeches is based around a saying that she coined: “A person can do the impossible, if they have enough reason to make it happen.”

Lo and behold! My mother did some research (remember, she’s 7 hours behind us) and, yes, there IS an ulpan that I can go to, and it will probably work out well. We’re going to call tomorrow morning to find out.

Now I must go to bed, for tomorrow is yet another day…

Comments»

1. Becki - September 6, 2006

I totally don’t mind being vented at….I wuv U!

2. Jerri - January 29, 2013

Thanks for your personal marvelous posting!
I actually enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.
I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will come back from now on.
I want to encourage you continue your great posts, have a nice
holiday weekend!

3. wordpress.com - July 19, 2013

Competitory pricing, knowing staff and higher-ranking client military service all add up to green goods ellwood holding at my own tournament.
This verbalized communication is verbalized many former provinces bump your dearie, or
travel to them all regularly for the latest getting married
diligence ellwood. Punjabi ellwood has become the most democratic prize after of people who lodged
lawsuits against work-related accidental injuries- and won!


Leave a comment